New Phases of Life

As many of you know, I am happy to say that as of last weekend, Claire and I are engaged to be married! We’ve been talking about marriage pretty much since our first date back in October, and so although we have something of a short timeline (wedding to be on August 12th!) we really do believe that this is what God is calling us to. I’m excited to enter into this new phase of life, and to have Claire as a part of my Priesthood and ministry. We have already begun marriage prep, and we are fortunate to have some incredible couples to encourage and mentor us as we prepare for the sacrament of Holy Matrimony. Please pray for us over the next few months!

There is also some other exciting news. On Monday, after an interview with our Commission on Ministry, I was admitted as a “Candidate” for Holy Orders. I have been a “Postulant” for the past two years, continually discerning a vocation to the Priesthood. Acceptance into candidacy is a confirmation that the Church feels that I am called to this ministry, and is a sign of the diocese’s ongoing support and encouragement. This means that God-willing (and provided I pass my ordination exams) I will be ordained as a Deacon a year from now.

Needless to say, my life has been quite busy and stressful, but also exciting, lately! Apart from these new developments, I am juggling my academics, chapel responsibilities, preaching in local parishes, social life, etc. Although “Middler” year is notorious for being difficult, I think I am handling things fairly well thus far! I’m looking forward to the Lenten season, and to a few weeks of relative normalcy at Nashotah House.

Yesterday I was blessed to sing several solo parts in a beautiful setting of the Magnificat at Evening Prayer. You can listen to it HERE (scroll to about the 12 minute mark).

As always, thank you to all my supporters and those who pray for me. I could not be pursuing my vocation if it were not for you!

In Christ,

Joseph

16729471_10212123578667349_803927189065916097_n

 

4 thoughts on “New Phases of Life

  1. Joseph ,alan and I were just talking the other day about the young man we took
    To Donegal.we are so proud to see you being called by God to do His good works and to see you maturing in your priesthood.we will continue to pray for you and of course your fiancé as you prepare for another journey in your life.
    It is so wonderful to see what we knew as teenagers, grow into wonderful adults walking with God.
    May God continue to bless you on the many journeys of life ahead of you .
    God bless joanne

  2. Congratulations! So, is she a Wisconsin girl? If so, welcome to the club and where did you meet her?
    signed – Ben There Done That

Leave a Reply

